Alzheimer’s Through the Looking Glass

For the Brooklyn Art Library’s Sketchbook Project 2011, I drew and wrote about caring for my mother, Alice, through Alzheimer’s Disease. You can see the sketchbook on their site:  http://arthousecoop.com/users/danawalrath . Because there is no place for dialogue with people outside of the project on that site, I’ve entered the Land of Blog.  I’ll be writing about each of the images individually in the weeks to come. For now, here’s the sketchbook in its entirety.   I used pencil and cut text (from Alice in Wonderland) to make the images. Some pages include cut paper and colored pencil too.

Alice

 

Disappearing Alice

 

None is Hard to Draw

 

Missing Parts

 Flight

 

Alice Ungrounded

 

Aliceheimer’s

 

Apples are Better

 

Up

 

Fairy Pirates

 

New Friends

 

Sublimerierung und Selbstverachtung

 

Sundowning

 

Light, Years, Later

 

Umbilicus

 

Because You Are My Mother

 

Falling Slowly

 

The Lobster Quadrille

 

Through the Looking Glass 

 



Alice’s Wonderland

 

Before Wonderland: Armenian School, NYC, Circa 1944

 

Drink Me

 

Curioser and Curioser

 

A Mad Tea Party

 

I’m Opening Up Like the Largest Telescope That Ever Was

 

Who Are You?

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Through the Looking Glass and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Alzheimer’s Through the Looking Glass

  1. Magnificent, Dana! Each picture brings the viewer to a deeper understanding. Poignant and beautiful. Kudos!!

  2. Sonia Rae says:

    Fantastic! You’ve jumped right on it. I love the site.

  3. Kathi Appelt says:

    Dana–this is just amazing and wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    xoK

  4. danawalrath says:

    Thanks so much for your kind words, Kathi, Sonia and Sarah. More blog posts on the way!

  5. maureen hourihan says:

    Dana, you made me laugh and cry all over again remembering, remembering. This is beautiful work, important work. We must remember and write and draw for those who can’t. Love you and sending you all my best…Maureen

  6. I just found this thanks to Kathi and I’m absolutely bowled over. Wonderful work. So touching. Utterly original and rich. Thank you.

  7. Just amazing words and sketches… a wonderful way for all to process such a complex experience. I want to meet alice !
    rita

  8. Maxwell Walrath says:

    It’s so nice to hear about her princess image!

  9. Dana, I’ve looked and looked again at your Alzheimer’s series. I don’t know any series of images about the kind of “disappearance” that happens with this disease that is as strong, original and affecting as your sketchbook. And I’ve looked at lots of art about this subject and made a series of images myself from the days when my mother was similarly ill- with Alzheimers.

    As artwork, these sketches are teaching me something about sequences and narrative pictures. They are enormously instructive on many levels. Thank you.

    • danawalrath says:

      Thank you Elly, both for taking so much time with these images and for your kind words. It is interesting that images (of all things) can capture disappearance, that is if they are in a series. I am looking forward to seeing your work from the days of your mother’s life with Alzheimer’s. I can imagine thier power.
      with every best wish,
      Dana

  10. Jean Lawhorn says:

    Dana,
    It’s wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

